Above the Cut-Anita Rodgers – HUNT For THE KEEPER

Published December 3, 2023 by paulandpaulasbooks

I opened the book HUNT FOR THE KEEPER and finished it off in one sitting- I loved the story – loved the fast action, and best of all, it was more like being in the midst of things, not just sitting and reading about it.

Anita Rodgers is to me a Mystery and Suspense writer with a psychological thread but looking at her author’s page on Amazon, she has more spokes in her wheel – I’ve been friends with her for quite a while but it is only recently I realized she was also an author. I read the prequel book, Hunt for the Keeper to her Dead Dog Trilogy and begged to be one of her Beta readers.

The party scene brought back one of my nieces’ gatherings and the undertones that make people walk on eggshells.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I don’t know that there was a particular time. I was always writing something – poems, stories, random thoughts. Writing was the way I processed the world around me. The tool I used to logic things out that didn’t make sense to me. The way I discovered what I really thought about things. Although, I was first encouraged to be a writer by my 5th grade teacher, Mrs. Kessler. She told me I had talent and I should grow up to be a writer. She even took out books for me, from the library on writing and encouraged me every way she could to take it seriously.

How long does it take you to write a book?

Ha! Depends on the book. My current WIP, I’ve been working on forever and it’s changed so many times, that I wonder if it is telling me it doesn’t want to be written. Still…

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

I don’t have a set schedule. Sometimes it depends on the season, like if it is summer I may write early in the morning or late at night. Even with AC it can be too hot to concentrate. When I’m in the final stages of a book, I can sometimes write 10 hours a day. Or if I’m ‘in the flow’ (which doesn’t happen often) I can write until I drop. Generally, I try to write every day. Sometimes just a paragraph, sometimes a few pages, sometimes a few chapters.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

Hmm. Sometimes, I’ll act out scenes – whether physically or in my head. Especially fight scenes or scenes that require some type of choreography. Or scenes where you have to be sure it would/could play out the way you envision it. For example, in Murder Ready to Eat, there was a scene when the MC was bound with duct tape and wriggled her way to her feet. I had to be sure someone could actually do it. So, I tested my theory.

How do books get published?

I self publish through Amazon and KOBO. Other authors may use other platforms to self publish like Book Baby or Smashwords or Draft to Digital. Other authors go the traditional route, get an agent, who approaches publishers. Or they may approach small presses directly and gain a publishing contract.

Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

I write crime fiction, so I read a lot of true crime, and books about criminal behavior, as well as police procedure, etc. I also belong to a couple of groups with law enforcement, medical, arson, and legal experts who answer fiction writer’s questions. I also use the Internet to research topics, procedures, and data, such as the FBI website, crime statistics sites, cold case files and so forth.

My ideas usually come from my own head. Most of my stories start with a character that pops into my head. I think about them, make notes put them in various situations to see how they’ll react in scenes I use. Once one really sticks with me I start to consider what their story is and then we are off to the races.

When did you write your first book, and how old were you?

When I was 8 years old. It was a handwritten, 30 page saga called The Addict. I wrote it for my dad who was a mystery/suspense/true crime fan. I think he liked it.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I love to read and watch movies. I love to garden. I love to cook and watch cooking shows. I live in the foothills, so there is lots of places to walk and explore nature. Laundry, sleep, hanging out with friends.

What does your family think of your writing?

My mother was my biggest fan. She read everything I ever wrote. And I have a cousin who reads my books. Beyond that, I don’t think they think anything about it.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

How hard it was. The writing itself is not a cake walk but the real difficulty is in managing the business side of it. Setting up platforms, figuring out formatting, proofreading, editing, marketing, mailing lists, ISBNs, copyrights. There is an enormous amount of work that goes into every book. Hundreds of decisions to be made from creation to publication and beyond.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

Nine. And a box set of the Dead Dog Trilogy books from the Lottie Stark series. I don’t know that I have a favorite. Each book means something to me for different reasons. The book that was the most fun for me to write was Coffee & Crime, the one I am most proud of is The Dead Dog Trilogy (thought that is technical 3 books). Each book is a milestone for me in one way or another.

Do you have any suggestions to help me become a better writer? If so, what are they?

There is a lot of writing advice out there but I think it’s hard for anyone to take the view that they could make someone else a better writer. But I will say that what helps me is to study craft in all its forms, from essays to books to finished products. Also, I believe any writer who wants to become better will try to challenge themselves by writing things they are afraid to write, covering topics that might intimidate them, writing characters that aren’t easy. And of course, the more you write, the better you become. The old adage that practice makes perfect is true.

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

Sometimes. Most often when a new book is released. Their comments range from thank you’s, to encouragement, to praising the stories. All have been very kind and I appreciate that anyone would take time out their day to write to me. It’s very touching and humbling.

Do you like to create books for adults?

I’ve never really written stories for children, so I suppose all my books are for adults.

What do you think makes a good story?

Compelling characters, great dialogue, a pace that doesn’t exhaust the reader but keeps them turning pages, a surprise the reader doesn’t expect (not necessarily a twist but a character doing the unexpected, a situation turning in a way you don’t see coming, things like that), and a solid premise.

As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

A ballerina, a fireman, a police officer. Not what you’d expect, eh?

AMAZON BOOK PAGE: (CONTAINS LINKS TO ALL BOOKS)

https://www.amazon.com/stores/Anita-Rodgers/author/B004N8IWY6

GoodReads profile:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3015363.Anita_Rodgers

Book Bub Profile:

https://www.bookbub.com/authors/anita-rodgers

Facebook Profile:

https://www.facebook.com/Anita.M.Rodgers

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.