C.J. Pinard

Published June 6, 2014 by paulandpaulasbooks

C.J. Pinard has agreed to an impromptu interview, an off the cuff chat ~c.j. pinard phot

Paula Shene

I’m really enjoying the story,  Soul Rebel, and have not yet figured how you are going to resolve, which is great!  It was the same with your Enchanted Immortals series.  I quit reading Agatha Christie when I figured out where she was going by the third chapter.

C.J. Pinard

Ah, well, I am  flattered you put down Agatha for me – LOL!

Paula Shene

You’re welcome, but you are actually closer to Lynsay Sands.

I’ve not found your formula and this is the second story with you I’ve read – and it is in somewhat the same type genre.

C.J. Pinard 

I have heard of her but haven’t yet read.

Paula Shene

She is funny – not that this one is particularly funny, but it has the moralistic side to it – nice

C.J. Pinard 

Thanks

I got a lot of complaints about Enchanted with the ‘flash forward’ switching back and forth…, but I’m not gonna change it.

Paula Shene

I agree!

I did not find that off putting at all.

It was clearly noted and maybe my ADD or multitasking side kicked into gear, and I enjoyed the shifts. I usually read three to four books at a time, so I don’t get bored.

C.J. Pinard

Did you notice I used 1946 as my year in the book?

Paula Shene

Yes, I did, and that was one of the things that I found sweet.

C.J.Pinard

I wish I had more time to read! I gave up TV, but I cannot give up books!

Paula Shene

I watch several shows a week, but my reading for fun is when I get to bed.

How about an interview to feature the YA convention you’re going to? I am in the midst of pushing my anti bullying book, Springtime Bullies.

C.J. Pinard 

I didn’t know you were doing an anti-bullying book!

Interview, sure!

Paula Shene

I’m participating in a Free Kindle Giveaway that ends on the 7th of June, and I have one copy of my Springtime Bullies for free give away also on the 7th of June, on our Peacock Writer’s site blog.

Great on the interview!

I’ve read the first book of Enchanted Immortals – tell us about this series, please ~

C.J. Pinard 

Well… Enchanted Immortals is my first book. It was supposed to be one book, but you know how that goes. One turned into four. There may be a 5th if I can find the time. I have tons of ideas for it.

Paula Shene

Somewhere in passing you said, you were revamping {No pun intended}, and taking to a convention?

C.J. Pinard 

Oh. I just went through and edited all the books, cleaned them up, that sort of thing.

I am going to a book convention next month – UtopYA in Nashville. I can’t wait. It’s going to be a blast. I  have a table I’m sharing with another author, Emma Shade. She writes paranormal romance.

Paula Shene

YA?

C.J. Pinard 

Yes, it’s a convention for women writers of YA fiction.

Paula Shene

That’s super- have you read any of Emma Shade‘s books yet?

C.J. Pinard 

Yes, I edited them all

Paula Shene

Ohhhhhhhhh – nice!

Well, this sounds like you’re going for fun as well as business.

C.J. Pinard 

Yes, I do copy editing for eBooks as well as being a writer. Editing is how I started out, actually.

Paula Shene

Ah, I went the other way and like you, am doing both.

To tell you the truth, I actually started as a reader.

C.J. Pinard 

Well, so did I!

Paula Shene

As I mentioned, I read a recent WIP of yours that I enjoyed as much as the Enchanted although it was totally different – Soul Rebel.

C.J. Pinard 

That’s not a WIP! Book 1 is done.  Thank you!

I need to get book 2 out. So many projects… so little time!

Paula Shene

I read it as a WIP

I will now look for number two!

I have three on the fire and my fingers are burning – know what you mean.

C.J. Pinard 

Ha… probably the end of Summer, if I can get my act together

Yes! I have three or four. I need to concentrate on one.

Paula Shene

Right – and let’s not talk about the ones we’re editing, hmmm?

C.J. Pinard 

It’s book writing ADHD.

Paula Shene

My next one, the children’s collection is due in 10 days, so that is up on the top of the list. Sure is ADHD… Or,  ADHAHA

Alaisdair – the YA sci-fi/adventure – is kicking his heels, but he’ll wait.  .

C.J. Pinard 

I want my book Boots Beneath my Bed out by July 28th, but we’ll see.

Ah…. Cool name.

Paula Shene

So is the three Bs book – Boots Beneath My Bed.

Alaisdair Peyton is the hero and It’s started, but is only a tad into it.

I know where it is going unless he grabs it from me and runs like the dog stories do.

C.J. Pinard 

I fly by the seat of my pants when I write too. The characters dictate the story, not an outline.

Boots Beneath my Bed is a sequel to a short story I did in this book. I get hate mail about it, lol

http://www.amazon.com/Summer-Sizzle-Stories-Love-Passion-ebook/dp/B00DRHKWC4/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

Paula Shene

Exactly! I have a theme in mind, and the dogs snatch and run in another direction.

Why are you getting hate mail?

C.J. Pinard 

Because my story in that book didn’t have a “happily ever after”… people are mad.

So I said, I will write Miranda’s story, and finish the storyline from the time she left San Diego to where she meets Cara in Patriotic Duty.

Paula Shene

You corrected me about your Rebel book and number two is on its way – what gave you the idea and thrust for this series?

C.J. Pinard

Well. I’ve always wanted to write a book about a succubus, and then I lived in the south for four years and thought Louisiana would make a good setting for it. I have bits about New Orleans in the book, too.

Paula Shene

Yes, you do… I know I’m going to be following this series as well as the Enchanted one… so, will there be more than two books in the series?

C.J. Pinard 

I’m planning three books in the Rebel Riders series. Soul Redemption is next!

Paula Shene

Yes! At least three, that’s great news.

You have another book that just came out – military – want to tell us about that one?

C.J. Pinard 

Patriotic Duty actually came out in July of last year. The sequel, Tour of Duty came out in December 2013. This is my first contemporary romance. The story is special to me, but there will only be two books in that series.

Paula Shene

What can I say? I am thankful I ran across these as well. I should have these going well in hand by the time you get ready to pop another one on the shelf.

Now back to the Enchanted series, which I am in the midst of reading…

C.J. Pinard 

Which book are you on?

Paula Shene

I am on book 2 – no spoiler, please. Tell me where this series of stories came from and ended up on the reading shelves.

C.J. Pinard

Well, Enchanted Immortals was supposed to be one book. It’s my first. These characters came to life in my head, and I started banging out a story… then when I finished book 1, I decided that each character should get to tell their story. That’s where the flash forward/time shifts came in the book.

I always tell people – if you can get past the back and forth/time shifts, you will REALLY enjoy the story. There’s a deep plot there.

Paula Shene

I love the shifts and the double the fun thing… I am enjoying this series

C.J. Pinard

I’m so glad

Paula Shene

The characters are sweet and I love, too, the retro with the diner – when I was growing up …. umpteen years ago, I went to a diner just like that – it was coming home time for me.

C.J. Pinard 

Those diners really became popular in the 40s and 50s

Paula Shene

I was a mere toddler in the late forties and a bit of a brat in the fifties.  But my grandparents would go once or twice a year and we had a treat, those were treat times, not everyday stuff.

C.J. Pinard

That’s so awesome

Paula Shene

I know, because it is a memory that means something. My grandkids go to Friday’s regularly – will they remember that as a treat, or an every week sort of thing?

Thank you, C.J.  for stopping by.  You have been super, letting me keep you beyond your bedtime.  I know that day job is demanding.

C.J. Pinard 

Sweet! Thank you!

 

   C.J. Pinard can be found on:

 

 

 Amazon                  email: cjpinardauthor@gmail.com                  Website

tour of duty pinard cover

 

Soul rebel photo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

