G L Briggs

Published March 12, 2014 by paulandpaulasbooks

 Gail Briggs pixI was able to connect with G L Briggs to discuss her Stealth Series, a trio of stand-alone books with a background story as a connector.  I met Briggs in one of the many groups I am part of, found her interesting and affable, friendship material.  It is a pleasure to find that her stories and storytelling technique reflect her personality.

*******

I finished your book last night.   

Cool.  Did you enjoy the book? 

Yes, very much so. What I was hoping I might be able to do, is have a conversation with you about it.

Fire away.

I got a sense of where you are coming from in your paranormal and in your personality. I had read another interview of yours, and I know what runs through my head as I am doing stories.  What made you go in the direction you did with the main characters?

Not sure. I think the whole story began to tell itself once I got really started. Book one was the hardest to write, as I thought I was using my imagination. Turned out the characters were going in the direction they wanted to. If I tried to steer it the way I wanted it in my head, I always ended up rewriting scenes to fit the characters. I think the series takes a natural path, and I’m glad I didn’t interfere with its plot. 

I found it to be fast moving and enjoyable reading. I also have found that too, especially with my kid’s stories so it’s nice knowing there are other authors who get kicked to the side when the characters take over.

I once went into my writing group and had a rant about how my characters are arguing with me regarding what happens next – My characters won, and I wrote what they wanted. A successful author in the group was very pleased when I said my characters were shouting at me and wouldn’t shut up. He advised me to follow their lead. It was quite surreal to be discussing people who are only real in my books as if they were real in life. 

Not ever wanting to give away the plot, and knowing your involvement in paranormal research, what are your thoughts on using the dark side of witchcraft? 

I find the paranormal very interesting and fascinating. There are so many different aspects of the subject, and a lot of information to wade through to get to the good bits For instance, people still confuse ghosts and spirits, thinking they are the same thing, when they aren’t. I sigh in frustration when books I am reading make this fundamental mistake. 

My thoughts run scared regarding the dark side of witchcraft. People may think it’s all just ‘new agey’ stuff, but when taken seriously, and practiced, it is actually very potent and powerful and very real. I would never consider turning to the black arts, except in my books. It’s not something to mess around with, especially if you don’t know what you are doing. So my thoughts on the dark side of witchcraft are… staying away from it.

That is a confirmation of my thoughts. I understand that Karma rules in that realm yet too many dabble thinking they will not implode.

I have found that there are many Indie writers that are writing very entertaining books. I don’t normally read horror, but paranormal to me is interesting, so I figured I would give you a go.  The first, Fabled Enigma, I could not put down so was glad that I could go right into number two, Exorcism of the Species which also was a page turner.  Thankfully only having to wait a short time for number three, Forsaken. I actually liked your story so much I bought two copies so I could give one to a relative.

I’m pleased to hear that. Oh, just so you know, my paperbacks will be arriving soon for AuthorCon. Would you like me to put yours away so I don’t take them to Authorcon, as I know you like to have signed paperback copies of books you enjoy from authors you know.

Yes! They will go into my case of the author signed books. Thank you.

Now back to your characters.

Did you have specific people in mind, when using some of the characteristics or did they spring forth once you started?

Elena, the main character just evolved from the idea of the story. She is originally portrayed as a typical ‘new agey’ type person. Flowing skirts and fluffy tops, etc. Her personality showed itself slowly in the books, but her intelligence, compassion and knowledge is always there.
 

Thanatos is the complete opposite. She had no morals to speak of, she didn’t care what people thought of her, she never noticed anything around her in the beginning as she was too focussed on forcing people to do her bidding.
 

There were no specific people in my mind regarding the characters, as I wanted to simply encompass the general stereotypes to begin with and develop the characters naturally from there. The only time I included a real person and their characteristics in the book was when a good friend asked to be included in book two after reading and loving book one. I changed just enough so that only that one friend would know who the character was based on.

Are you writing anything that you wish to share with our public?

Right now I am writing a few different stories. I’ll see how they work out.

The first is a supernatural horror story surrounding psychic abilities. It is quite intense, and has a few surprises and shocks in store.

The next one is a magical fantasy adventure involving wizards and time travel. This is a fun novel and is much fun to write.

The next one is about demons again, but wholly different from the Stealth series and is leaning towards horror rather than paranormal.

Then, there is a sci-fi story I will be writing, but it’s only in the notes stage right now.

I have a vampire book I am thinking about. No, not a YA romance story, but a real horror story. 

I have so many ideas for different books, but the above are the ones I have notes on or have already started. For instance, the wizard book is 50,000 words in, the psychic horror story is 3 chapters in etc. I work on whichever story takes my fancy that day.

That’s great. Getting it down is a major thrust at finishing a story in good time. I have found that many writers have active minds along with active imaginations, and I, for one, look forward to reading whatever trips off your pen/keyboard.

Do you have any words for your fan base?

I have to say thank you. Your enjoyment of my work is uplifting and much appreciated. Without you all encouraging and enjoying, then writing would be much harder. I love reading your emails and messages, and every one is an encouragement to continue. So, thank you. I look forward to your feedback on my new works.

Thank you Gail, for allowing me to put you ‘on the spot’ so to speak, and yes, for writing totally enjoyable stories. 

I enjoyed that.

For more information on Gail from fellow readers and authors:  http://thecreativemuses.blogspot.com/?m=1

Amazon links listed below:

http://www.amazon.com/G-L-Briggs/e/B007TW4OJU/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1394410761&sr=8-1

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss/279-8840161-2733905?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=g+l+briggs

Stealth part 1 coverstealth part 2 coverGail Briggs pix


Stealth part 3 cover


Leave a Reply

